Safe and Sound by Laura McHugh

I want to thank Laura McHugh, Random House Publishing Group- Ballantine, and NetGalley for providing us this book in exchange for an honest review.

Review by Christin

5 Stars!!!

Oh my goodness! Laura McHugh, absolutely never disappoints, and because of that fact, I went into her latest novel, Safe and Sound completely blind.

This fast paced novel centers around Amelia and Kylee, teenage sisters, that dream of escaping their one-track town. Six year prior their older cousin Grace mysteriously disappears. Grace was nearing the end of her senior year, and was looking forward to college, which made her disappearance all the more puzzling. Now present day the town is in a frenzy when human remains are found wondering if it’s Grace. With a lot of unanswered questions still surrounding Grace, the girls make it their mission to figure what happened to their cousin once and for all.

This 5+++ star novel played out like a movie in my mind from start to finish! The characters are extremely well-developed, and Laura McHugh did a fantastic job of conveying their experiences and emotions. Told through alternating viewpoints, the storyline bounces between the past and present, which adds more intrigue and suspense to this epic read! I have adored every single one of Laura McHugh’s prior novels, and I think Safe and Sound is my new top favorite from her! I really think Safe and Sound would make a fantastic book club selection- a true must read!

Leave a comment