Joe Nuthin’s Guide to Life by Helen Fisher

I want to thank Helen Fisher, Gallery Books, and NetGalley for providing us with this book in exchange for an honest review.

Review by Christin

5 Stars!!!

Wow, I just finished reading Helen Fisher’s latest novel, Joe Nuthin’s Guide to Life. As someone who thoroughly enjoyed Fisher’s debut novel, Faye, Faraway, I was excited to dive into her second book – and I was not disappointed. The novel is an absolute gem in every sense of the word. The concept is intriguing, the storyline is captivating, and the characters are simply fantastic – each one unique and unforgettable in their own way.

At the heart of the story is a neurodivergent adult named Joe-Nathan and his aging mother, who are navigating the reality of aging with a child who has disabilities. I was moved by the novel’s portrayal of the mother-son relationship and the village it takes to make it— it should be required reading. I cannot praise Joe Nuthin’s Guide to Life enough. It is, without a doubt, one of the best books I have read this year. I give it 5++ stars (and I would give more if I could). I am already eagerly anticipating Helen Fisher’s next novel!

Leave a comment